Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation

Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation is a philanthropic foundation that promotes the quality use of medicines and supports the creation and dissemination of independent therapeutic information.

Through its grants, the Foundation seeks to advance health care, treatment and medical knowledge through research, education and creation or dissemination of information in low resource settings.

Since 2016, the Foundation has partnered with Australian not-for-profit organisations to deliver a range of activities. Organisations supported with grants from the Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation:

Board of Directors

Professor Michael Kidd, Board Chair

Professor Michael Kidd AM is the Principal Medical Advisor and Deputy Chief Medical Officer with the Australian Government Department of Health, and Professor of Primary Care Reform at the Australian National University. He has worked for over 35 years as a general practitioner, with special interests in the care of people with HIV, mental health and indigenous health. Michael is a past president of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners and the World Organization of Family Doctors (WONCA) and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Professor Debra Rowett, Deputy Board Chair

Professor Debra Rowett B.Pharm, Adv Prac Pharm, FANZCAP, FPS Discipline Leader Pharmacy, Clinical and Health Sciences, UniSA and Director of the Drug and Therapeutics Information Service (DATIS), Southern Adelaide Local Health Network. She has more than 30 years’ experience in the quality use of medicines, inter-professional practice, health policy and workforce development, with special interest in implementation science, aged care, and palliative care. Debra is the immediate past President of the Council of Pharmacy Schools: Australia and New Zealand.

Mr Tony Evans

Tony Evans has financial and corporate governance experience as a senior executive and a board member in the health, aged care, education, resources and not-for-profit sectors. Tony is currently a Board Director of the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine and the Australian Dental Council Ltd and a member of the Optometry Board of Australia. He has a Bachelor of Business and a Diploma in Education and is a Fellow of CPA Australia, the Governance Institute of Australia and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mr John Woodward

John Woodward has over 20 years’ experience as a pharmacist and served on the Queensland Clinical Senate and Statewide Older Person’s Health Clinical Network Steering Committee. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Sunshine Coast Health Network (trading as Central Queensland, Wide Bay, Sunshine Coast Primary Health Network) and is a previous Non-Executive Director and Chairperson of Sundale Ltd. John holds a Master of Health Management and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

To donate or to find out more about the grants program, email

Under Australian taxation laws, the Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation can only make grants to organisations based in Australia with both Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) Item 1 and Tax Concession Charity (TCC) status.

The Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission

Therapeutic Guidelines Foundation was established and initial funding provided by Therapeutic Guidelines Limited.